Kettlebellas

Next on my list of ‘fun fitness things to try’: kettlebells.  Now, I’ve done some kettlebells at the gym with my Trainer, but have never spent a full hour working with kettlebells.

I dragged a couple of work mates along to a trial class with Sydney Kettlebell School of Strength for Women at Newington.  We weren’t sure what to expect or how hard we were going to be thrashed.  This is an outdoor class – which was actually fantastic on this particular day as we had one of our first hot days of the season, so was great to be out of the air conditioning.

 

Photo credit: PT Me Personalised Training http://www.ptmepersonalisedtraining.com.au/gallery/Uncategorised/kettlebell-introduction-class/228811

Photo credit: PT Me Personalised Training http://www.ptmepersonalisedtraining.com.au/gallery/ Uncategorised/kettlebell-introduction-class/228811

The class ended up being far more technical than I had expected – we spend the hour working on technique for dead lifts and kettlebell swings.  I foolishly didn’t snap any pictures, particular of the three of us ‘bumming’ poles in the park – in order for us to understand the idea of breaking at the hips and where our hands should travel on the down side of the swing, we were almost backed up against poles, bending forward till our butts hit the pole and then reaching through behind us to tap the pole with our fingertips.  It really did a great job of putting it in perspective how to do the swing – I have always gone too low when swinging, taking the bell down between my calves almost, rather than swinging through the thighs.  Making that change and getting the technique right made a big difference to how effective the swings were – I really started to feel it in my glutes by the end of the session.

I was feeling the bum and hammies the next day, but I think that was as result of a monster leg session in the morning backed up by kettlebells in the evening!  (Note to self: don’t do that again!)  I did enjoy the swings – I could feel that they were really working the glutes in particular, but were great for the whole body – finishing up with 5 sets of 10 swings, I started to feel it right through the whole posterior chain, into abs, core and shoulders.

At the end of the session we had our trainer, Tania, give us a quick demo of a couple of other things that you can do with kettlebells.  Watching her do a ‘get up’ (just google it!) was pretty damn amazing – particularly as she was doing this with only a 12kg kettlebell and would normally work with at least a 24kg kettlebell.

 

The bottom line

What: Kettlebell trial class

Where: Sydney Kettlebell School of Strength for Women, Newington   www.ptmepersonalisedtraining.com.au

Would I do it again: Yes, as I took a couple of friends along I was offered a freebie and will be heading to one of their regular classes next week.  I also think that I would incorporate some kettlebell swings into my regular gym training – I think that they will do amazing things for the butt!

 

 

That's me - second from the right during (unweighted) warm up. Photo credit: Sydney Kettlebell School of Strength www.facebook.com/SydneyKettlebellSchoolOfStrength

That’s me – second from the right during (unweighted) warm up at the regular Kettlebellas class.
Photo credit: Sydney Kettlebell School of Strength http://www.facebook.com/SydneyKettlebellSchoolOfStrength

Update:
I went along to one of the Kettlebellas regular classes last week; fabulous!  You really start to feel those swings after 18 sets of 12 swings (first routine = 12 minutes; 12 swings, followed by a short sprint – repeat as many times as you can until you run out of time.  It was tough!).

Totally unlike my normal training, so it really pushed me.  Tania is fabulous, in that she really focuses on good form – even though we were doing a ‘time challenge’ of sorts, she still ensured that we were all working correctly throughout.

Will definitely be working swings into my regular training moving forward – what a great workout!

 

Posted on October 15, 2014, in Fitness Adventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

