A new approach

Well, Michelle’s 12WBT Round 2 2013 and I didn’t work too well together.  I kicked off, full of bravado and confidence, only to fall in inglorious heap as work mounted up (again), going through a death in the family and finding out that our fur-kid has cancer.  The last month to six weeks in has been particularly rough and worrying about losing a few kilos was not high on the priorities list.

Instead, I have been taking care of myself by not stressing about what I am consuming, or a missed workout.  Generally speaking, I have been letting myself eat what I want, although overall, trying to keep it pretty healthy.

the-fast-metabolism-dietAt some stage though, I need to get this sorted and am now trying something new – “The Fast Metabolism Diet”.  Whilst the principles in this are pretty sound (ie lots of whole foods, no dairy, no caffeine, no WINE! etc), the plan itself is a four week gig.  I’m looking at it as a reset.  The book claims that you can lose up to 9kg in the four weeks – but for me who only has about that to lose entirely, I don’t expect it to happen in just 4 weeks.  But I am going to give it a damn good crack!

(I should add that I am giving this a go after a friend tried it recently and saw some good results).

The plan is based on the idea of ‘confusing’ your metabolism and that you need to EAT in order to get your metabolism firing and keep it burning.  As such, there are three phases each week, with different dietary and exercise requirements:

Days 1-2: high-glycemic, moderate-protein, low-fat phase. High in carbohydrate-rich foods, high in natural sugars, high in B and C vitamins.  Cardio training.

Days 3-4: very high-protein, high-vegetable, low-carbohydrate, low-fat phase. High in foods that support liver function (onion family, leafy greens, lemons), high in lean proteins, rich in alkalizing green, low-glycemic vegetables, high in carnitine-producing foods.  Weight training.

Days 5-7: high healthy-fat, moderate-carbohydrate, moderate-protein, low-glycemic fruit phase. High in healthy fats, higher-fat proteins in moderate amounts, lower-glycemic fruits, lower-glycemic vegetables, moderate amounts of unrefined carbohydrates, thyroid-stimulating foods, foods rich in inositol and choline.  Relaxation – yoga, massage and the like.

One of the key requirements is eating every 3 hours or so.  Kicked off this morning with an ‘Oaty Berry Smoothy’ – pulverised oats, frozen berries, water and cinnamon.  Flavour was good, but texture was not – so I microwaved it and turned it into porridge!  Much better.

Overall, I’m not sure that I would stick with the plan as prescribed in the book forever – the three different phases each week require a fair bit of thought and planning to keep it all straight.

So we’ll see how it goes.  You can do anything for 4 weeks, right?

Posted on August 19, 2013, in General life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I did FMD for 4 weeks, lost 9 of the 20 remaining pounds I wanted to lose (and those 9lbs weren’t coming off at all, for about a year!), and now the school year is starting up again, I’m starting another round of it. I agree that the plan isn’t necessarily sustainable forever, but the list of no’s – no corn/soy/sugar etc. is something that can be done.

Leave a Reply

